Skip to content

Guitar no more.

May 15, 2011

20110515-052802.jpgEver since I picked up a guitar at the age of 9, I have played one daily. Ok with the obvious exceptions of holidays and trips away from home, but they don’t count. For the last 15 years I have been playing.

I could open quotation now and drop a cliche or two about it being apart of me, apart of what I do. It wouldn’t be far wrong though. There honestly is something very therapeutic to play as the vibrations and sounds resonate around the room and through your body, you can’t help but connect with it.

Everyone has their stress relief and for me it’s music, or more importantly my relationship with the guitar – it has after all been something I’ve done since the age of 9 and love it or not, if you’ve spent that long doing something, you’re quite naturally going to go cold turkey when it’s taken away from you.

Where’s this going? Well for the last month, I have not touched my guitar (I never thought I’d say that!). It got to a point some time ago that strumming would ache my arm, and singing would send me lightheaded, so I stopped both, but continued to finger-style.

Last night after the temptation grew to overwhelming I took out the guitar and started to play a simple finger-style piece – less than 60 seconds in and my whole arm went completely dead… Lost for words and emotion, I put the guitar away again. I didn’t get proper feeling back in that arm for nearly 2hrs.

Now I find myself delving through my iTunes library creating playlists of raw acoustic artists, trying to get my fix of stress relief… But it’s just not the same.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

